Easy as pie. Or at least that is how the saying goes. But what about the gluten-free crowd? Making pie without flour can be a bit of a challenge. However, just in time for the holiday season is Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Pie Crust in the freezer section. It’s already shaped and even has its own pie tin too. But how does it compare to a non gluten-free crust?
So let’s review the basics of pie crust. It’s usually flour, butter, ice cold water, some salt and some sugar. Nothing too fancy because truth be told you want to keep is simple as the filling is the star.
Here we have the first ingredient as butter. No wonder it is in the frozen section.
But beyond that we have some ingredients you wouldn’t normally find in a traditional pie crust: rice flour, tapioca flour, cornstarch, and even eggs. All items that are needed to compensate for the lack of flour.
So, I decided to make a filling that I felt would be sufficiently challenging for a pie crust: a chocolate bourbon pecan pie. The filling is very liquid in nature, so it would present the perfect challenge for this item.
First, you’ll need to defrost this (in my case, it was picture time). I had also preheated the oven. I docked the crust as instructed. Don’t overlook this step as mine did develop some air bubbles while blind baking this.
In the meanwhile, the ingredients were put together for the filling while the crust was baking (and then cooled to room temperature).
The pie in this bag isn’t terribly large: just 9 inches. It is probably close to 6 servings than 8. But if you are making a pie where a pie crust needs to go on top, you’ll need to pick up a second crust. And at $3.49, this little pie will get pricey.
But after filling the pie 2/3 of the way up, it went into the oven for 40 minutes. But with any pie, it is the waiting game. As bubbly and delicious as the crust looked, it had to cool to be enjoyed.
After a slice, I realized that the taste of this crust is a bit on the bland side. But then again, the filling is meant to be the star. The crust seems much thinner than other frozen crusts and by docking the crust (on the bottom and on the side) it did end up poking some holes through the crust. That was kinda of a bummer because it meant that I couldn’t remove it from its tin pie pan.
Regardless, even with such a liquid, eggy filling, it held up quite well. It even had some layers at the bottom. But where I felt it was the most bland was actually at the top where the ruffled edge is.
Because of the amount of time in the oven, that seemed the most dried out and tasteless. So I just enjoyed everything but the top.
Overall, I think if you are gluten-free or having company that is gluten-free, this isn’t a bad option to reach for. I still prefer the taste of a regular pie crust. But I didn’t feel like I was missing out too much either.
Would I buy this again? For me and my guests a regular pie crust will do, but if you are gluten-free then this is a good option.
Here is the visual run down of what you get if you buy this product:
The bag of Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Pie Crust:
The nutritional information:
How to prepare:
After being cooked you get:
A closer look at the crust after being cooked:
Want to see more items I’ve reviewed from Trader Joe’s? Click on Thoughts & Reviews of Trader Joe’s for a searchable list.
Did you try it? Let me know what you think in the comments section!
The Bottom Line
Don’t forget to share your thoughts by going to the “user review” at the bottom of the box (click on the number of stars you believe this product deserves) and leave a comment below.
Trader Joe's Gluten Free Pie Crust
Product Name: Trader Joe's Gluten Free Pie Crust
Product Description: A frozen gluten free pie crust.
Trader Joe’s frozen holiday gluten free pie crust is a good option if going gluten free is a must this holiday season.
- A good option, if not one of the few commercially available gluten free pie crusts available
- Holds up well to liquid fillings
- Structurally sound when sliced
- Edges were a bit over cooked after blind baking
- Not terribly flavorful
- Seasonal, so if you are gluten free, please be aware this was marked as “HOL” on my receipt which indicates it is a holiday or seasonal item